Visualise: Contracting Parties

Visualise contracting parties

Only GATT contracting parties could have recourse to the procedures in Articles XXII and XXIII of the GATT 1947, and could therefore be parties to a GATT dispute. Disputes under the Tokyo Round codes could take place only between signatories to these agreements, i.e. a subset of GATT contracting parties.

In the interest of accuracy, this database has maintained the historical names of disputing parties at the time of each dispute, e.g. Ceylon, Czechoslovakia, Hong Kong, the Federal Republic of Germany, Yugoslavia, or the Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland.

A number of disputes were initiated by or against the EEC, which comprised a gradually growing number of GATT contracting parties over the decades. The European Economic Communities (EEC) was initially composed of six member States, and subsequently enlarged to 9, 10 and 12 until the entry into force of the Marrakesh Agreement Establishing the World Trade Organization. Accordingly, this database makes reference to EEC-6, EEC-9, EEC10 or EEC-12, and it also refers to individual EEC member States (e.g. France, Italy, etc.) for cases where they acted in their own capacity.

List of contracting parties

Main complainants and respondents

Use the tabs to switch between the visualisation of the main complainants (orange) and respondents (blue) in disputes with one or more contracting parties. The chart shows by default the contracting parties with the highest number of disputes, but it will adjust once the filters are applied. 

Date of initiation

Most frequent complainants and respondents

Use the tabs to switch between the visualisation of most frequent complainants, repondents and third parties. The charts will adjust once the date filters are applied. 

Most frequent Complainants Most frequent Respondents Most frequent 3rd Parties
Date of initiation